Runway Recap: NYFW Fall 2016 Ready-to-Wear Part 1

It’s that time again, everyone! Time for Fashion Month! I wasn’t actually aware that this was going on, but now that I am, we are jumping right in. Like last time, I will be dividing the posts up into parts. NYFW will have five parts, London will have one, Milan will have one, and Paris will have two parts. However, this time around, I’m only including three looks from each collection. Four made for some lengthy posts. Now I’m rambling. Let’s get a move on!

 

Trina Turk

TrinaTurkFall1
image credit: Jonathan Skow
TrinaTurkFall2
image credit: Jonathan Skow
TrinaTurkFall3
image credit: Jonathan Skow

I loved this presentation! This is exactly what I imagine when I think “fall.” Delicious coats, yummy suede, and an expert use of color! I’d definitely buy a lot of these pieces.

Compared to Spring/Summer 2016Trina kept her signature bold prints and bright colors, but somehow managed to really capture the muted, calm of autumn. The spring collection featured chiffon and neons, while this fall show keeps it more neutral with pops of orange, yellow, and fuchsia.

Overall: Really enjoyed this. The models look ready to take a stroll through Central Park on a crisp November afternoon, and that is what it’s all about.

 

Marissa Webb

MarissaWebbFall1
image credit: Marcus Tondo
MarissaWebbFall2
image credit: Marcus Tondo
MarissaWebbFall3
image credit: Marcus Tondo

I. Mean. Can we please just sit a spell and take it all in? DY-ING. Fun fact about me: spring may be my favorite season, but I live to dress for fall/winter. Chunky knits speak to my soul. Guess what this show had an abundance of. Chunky knits. I’m only hyperventilating a little bit.

Compared to Spring/Summer 2016This is just an example of how diverse Marissa Webb can be. Her spring collection was colorful, light, flowy, and fun. This collection, while also colorful with flowing elements, was so different. The coats, the knits, the styling, it screamed fall, whereas the spring collection screamed spring. The shows are definitely not the same, but similar enough to know that both are Marissa Webb.

Overall: Oh, yes. This is the epitome of a fall collection.

 

Kate Spade New York

KSNYFall1
image credit: Kate Spade New York
KSNYFall2
image credit: Kate Spade New York
KSNYFall3
image credit: Kate Spade New York

Do I even need to talk about my love for this presentation? I think we all know how much I adore Kate Spade by now. She’s so good. That bow coat? I need it. That cream/nude pussybow shirt? Gotta have it. That blush pleated skirt? Get in my closet. KSNY can basically do no wrong. Superb.

Compared to Spring/Summer 2016Just looking at an overview of both collections, the spring collection has more bright colors. Yellow, bright pink, greens, blues, lots of white, and florals. The fall collection has color too, but like other shows, it was more muted and… almost cozy? It made me feel like curling up in front of a fire in a cashmere sweater, whereas the spring show makes me feel like walking down to the farmer’s market and picking up some fresh peonies.

Overall: As always, A++, my dear Kate. So much love for you.

 

Jason Wu

JasonWuFall1
image credit: Yannis Vlamos
JasonWuFall2
image credit: Yannis Vlamos
JasonWuFall3
image credit: Yannis Vlamos

Honestly not too sure about this one. It’s a beautiful show. Jason Wu is a spectacular designer. It just doesn’t speak to me like some of the others have. It doesn’t give me that “want to sit by a fire” or “stroll in the park on a chilly morning” feeling. I do like the florals in this collection, though. However, I’d be more inclined to wear that navy dress in the spring! Maybe I’m just backward.

Compared to Spring/Summer 2016Last season, I remember saying that Wu’s collection felt more fall than spring. And now, this show feels a little spring-y! I’m so confused. Maybe it’s just because there wasn’t an overwhelming number of coats or knits. That is what makes me see “fall.”

Overall: A great show. Beautiful fashion. But I’m not overly thrilled or wowed.

 

Hervé Léger

HerveLegerFall1
image credit: Luca Tombolini
HerveLegerFall2
image credit: Luca Tombolini
HerveLegerFall3
image credit: Luca Tombolini

How very interesting. This was basically a re-telling of the spring show, just in deeper, fall colors! Max Azria has a very distinct style. That geometric, bandage-style blocking is very present in both 2016 Hervé shows. Personally, I think it works. I like this style. It’s cool, it’s different, and it works with many different color palettes (as Azria has shown us here).

Compared to Spring/Summer 2016: The only main differences come from the styling and the colors of the garments. The spring collection showed many whites, light pinks, a few lavenders, and light neutrals. The models wore bare legs, wedges, and open-toed, strappy heels. In the fall show, we have more black, grey, deep reds, blues, greens, and rust- fall tones. The models are wearing thick black tights and boots, both knee high, and ankle booties.

Overall: I really like the Hervé Léger style. Like I said before, it’s cool. I’d totally wear these pieces.

 

Christian Siriano

ChristianSirianoFall1
image credit: Aitor Rosas
ChristianSirianoFall2
image credit: Aitor Rosas
ChristianSirianoFall3
image credit: Aitor Rosas

OH my goodness. This, in my opinion, may be some of Siriano’s best work to date. Spectacular. Just incredible. He stayed very true to himself and his “girl,” while simultaneously changing it up and showing us things we’ve never dreamt of. I mean, that first look is a giant knit piece, wrapped around a model’s upper torso to form a crop top! For fall! And somehow it works so well. I’d buy that in a heartbeat. Some of his ventures into semi-casual wear didn’t quite make the cut, but what worked, worked. Take a look at the final gown. See the straps, how they’re twisted? That is an element shown in other looks, like this one that I literally gasped out loud at. He also included in many looks a digitally printed cable knit print onto what looks like jersey, just to create the illusion. He’s a true genius.

Compared to Spring/Summer 2016: Fall RtW had much more color, that’s for sure. It felt more innovative, more thought out, and just more interesting to watch. However, like Spring/Summer, he chose to end the show with an abundance of magnificent gowns in rapid succession. He’s always one to give a big finish.

Overall: Bravo, Mr. Siriano. You’ve outdone yourself.

 

Well! That sure was fun. I’ve missed the runway. Like I said, more NYFW posts will follow, then LFW, then Milan, then Paris. You know the drill. Six more shows will come your way tomorrow!

XOXO,

Emily

2 thoughts on “Runway Recap: NYFW Fall 2016 Ready-to-Wear Part 1

Leave a comment